Trophies are for Talent, not the Team

By EMILY BRZOZOWSKI

All children who compete in activities shouldn’t receive equal awards.

As a kid, winning the soccer MVP medal was my dream.

The other team’s coach awarded two MVP medals for each game during the championship tournament. I wanted that medal desperately, so I vowed to play my best.

Being the goalie, I let the other team score, so we lost 0-1. I wasn’t expecting the other coach to call my number for the medal, but they did.

I was so thrilled, I realized I could accomplish anything through hard work.

According to 2014’s Reason-Rupe Poll, 57 percent of Americans agree only winners should receive trophies.

Although rewarding everyone “boosts self-esteem,” the winner’s self-esteem and feeling of success is lessened.

Mike Woitalla told mercurynews.com kids realize who is better or worse than them.

This realization doesn’t make the sense of accomplishment real when the actual winner is handed the same reward as the kid who participated.

If bosses paid workers that clocked in, nothing would get done. By rewarding everyone, children learn that people care more about participation than success, and they don’t have to try.

If kids continue to be handed trophies, no one will try.

Nikolette Dallicardillo, 15, recently won a medal for triple jump in track. The six highest pairs are awarded, and this was Dallicardillo’s first win.

“I’m proud I won. I didn’t think I had a chance of winning so I never tried. Now I see hard work pays off, so I will push myself in future meets,” Dallicardillo said. “If everyone got the medal, there’s no point in trying. It’s important to teach kids hard work pays off and life doesn’t hand them things.”

If all kids are given medals or similar rewards, they won’t work hard and believe in themselves, depriving them of the same traits I gained when I won the MVP medal.

Leave a Reply

